If you’re trying Veganuary, you have probably cleared your fridge of animal products and are checking menus for vegan options before going to a restaurant. You’ve sorted your packed lunches so that you’re not caught out on your lunch break with no vegan option in sight. So far, so good! But what do you do when it comes to that glass of wine?
Surprisingly, a lot of wines aren’t vegan. In the final stage of wine-making, the use of fining agents remove yeast traces and bacteria in the wine. These fining agents are often derived from animals, such as gelatine, casein, bone marrow, egg whites and fish bladders. Definitely not vegan friendly.
But don’t fret; you don’t have to give up Veganuary just yet. Many winemakers are turning to mineral and plant-based fining agents, such as bentonite clay, silica gel and plant casein. Or, they are abandoning the fining process altogether. The result? Wine that everyone can enjoy, omnivores and vegans alike.